Classic Film Lovers Guide to Hulu

If you missed an episode of Family Guy or Dollhouse, chances are you'll run to Hulu.com to watch said episode online. Full-length TV episodes are what this site is most known for. But did you know Hulu has a big selection of full-length classic film features available for viewing?

I ran across the full-length video of Pleasure Seekers (1964) on Hulu a few months ago, purely by accident. I was doing research on Pamela Tiffin who had been my main interest at the time and who happens to be in that movie. I had caught the last 40 minutes or so on the Fox Movie Channel and wanted to see the whole thing. That's where Hulu came in and I got a chance to see the whole movie!

Fast forward a few months later and I took a couple hours to do some real digging. I went through Hulu's vast collection of full-length movies and grabbed links to any films from the 1920s to the 1960s. I created a guide to the Classic Films on Hulu (see below). I tried to organize them by categories so it's more user friendly.

This list is only temporary as a lot of films on Hulu have expiration dates. In fact, Pleasure Seekers expired today! (boo). So if there any films on here you are interested in, watch them now.

Creme de la Creme

Charade (1963) http://www.hulu.com/watch/94303/charade (with Cary Grant and Audrey Hepburn)
His Girl Friday (1940) http://www.hulu.com/watch/63243/his-girl-friday (with Cary Grant and Rosalind Russell)
Captain Kidd (1945) http://www.hulu.com/watch/70587/captain-kidd
Dillinger (1945) http://www.hulu.com/watch/66708/dillinger
The Stranger (1946) http://www.hulu.com/watch/34115/the-stranger (with Orson Welles, Loretta Young and Edward G. Robinson)
Inherit the Wind (1960) http://www.hulu.com/watch/65442/inherit-the-wind (with Spencer Tracy)

Alfred Hitchcock
The 39 Steps (1935) http://www.hulu.com/watch/63055/the-39-steps
Sabotage (1937) http://www.hulu.com/watch/63051/sabotage
The Lady Vanishes (1938) http://www.hulu.com/watch/63050/the-lady-vanishes

Hidden Gems

Blackmail (1929) http://www.hulu.com/watch/66718/blackmail
Dead End (1937) http://www.hulu.com/watch/39077/dead-end (with Humphrey Bogart)
Moon Over Miami (1941) http://www.hulu.com/watch/80543/moon-over-miami (with Betty Grable and Don Ameche)
Rings on Her Fingers (1942) http://www.hulu.com/watch/64844/rings-on-her-fingers (with Henry Fonda and Gene Tierney
Thunder Birds (1942) http://www.hulu.com/watch/80728/thunder-birds (with Gene Tierney)
Woman's World (1954) http://www.hulu.com/watch/80727/womans-world (with Fred MacMurray and Lauren Bacall)
Big Noise (1944) http://www.hulu.com/watch/81275/the-big-noise (with Laurel & Hardy)
Man in the Middle (1964) http://www.hulu.com/watch/82140/man-in-the-middle (with Robert Mitchum!)
The Train (1965) http://www.hulu.com/watch/70571/the-train (with Burt Lancaster)
The Chairman (1969) http://www.hulu.com/watch/80546/the-chairman (with Gregory Peck)
A Hole in the Head (1959) http://www.hulu.com/watch/88202/a-hole-in-the-head (with Frank Sinatra and Edward G. Robinson)
Bachelor Flat (1961) http://www.hulu.com/watch/70068/bachelor-flat

Film Noir

99 River Street (1953) http://www.hulu.com/watch/95974/99-river-street
Crime Against Joe (1956) http://www.hulu.com/watch/95972/crime-against-joe
Cop Hater (1958) http://www.hulu.com/watch/88185/cop-hater

General

Cynara (1932) http://www.hulu.com/watch/95167/cynara (with Ronald Colman and Kay Francis)
The Last of the Mohicans (1936) http://www.hulu.com/watch/61166/the-last-of-the-mohicans-1936
Secret Agent (1936) http://www.hulu.com/watch/62721/secret-agent
The Little Princess (1939) http://www.hulu.com/watch/66720/the-little-princess (with Shirley Temple)
Earthbound (1940) http://www.hulu.com/watch/66803/earthbound
Happy Land (1943) http://www.hulu.com/watch/64845/happy-land
Sherlock Holmes and the Secret Weapon (1943) http://www.hulu.com/watch/81702/sherlock-holmes-and-the-secret-weapon
Love From a Stranger (1947) http://www.hulu.com/watch/61165/love-from-a-stranger
The Noose Hangs High (1948) http://www.hulu.com/watch/75331/the-noose-hangs-high (Abbott & Costello)
Africa Screams (1949) http://www.hulu.com/watch/67432/africa-screams
Prince of Foxes (1949) http://www.hulu.com/watch/69521/prince-of-foxes
Anne of the Indies (1951) http://www.hulu.com/watch/80851/anne-of-the-indies
Fixed Bayonets (1952) http://www.hulu.com/watch/65861/fixed-bayonets
Night People (1954) http://www.hulu.com/watch/80550/night-people (with Gregory Peck)
Captain Kidd and the Slave Girl (1954) http://www.hulu.com/watch/71578/captain-kidd-and-the-slave-girl
Big House, U.S.A (1955) http://www.hulu.com/watch/95170/big-house-usa
Untamed (1955) http://www.hulu.com/watch/80537/untamed (with Tyrone Power and Susan Hayward)
Dance with me, Henry (1956) http://www.hulu.com/watch/31470/dance-with-me-henry (Abbott & Costello)
Time Limit (1957) http://www.hulu.com/watch/73938/time-limit (with Richard Widmark)
Counterplot (1959) http://www.hulu.com/watch/97582/counterplot
The Son of Robin Hood (1959) http://www.hulu.com/watch/80850/the-son-of-robin-hood
Circle of Deception (1960) http://www.hulu.com/watch/70078/circle-of-deception
Anatomy of a Psycho (1961) http://www.hulu.com/watch/38088/anatomy-of-a-psycho
Boy Who Caught A Crook (1961) http://www.hulu.com/watch/95973/boy-who-caught-a-crook
Sniper's Ridge (1961) http://www.hulu.com/watch/80725/snipers-ridge
Hero's Island (1962) http://www.hulu.com/watch/88187/heros-island
Incident in an Alley (1962) http://www.hulu.com/watch/75334/incident-in-an-alley
Mr. Arkadin (1962) http://www.hulu.com/watch/63043/mr-arkadin (Orson Welles)
California (1963) http://www.hulu.com/watch/85350/california
Sergeant Deadhead (1965) http://www.hulu.com/watch/88200/sergeant-deadhead
The Knack, and How To Get It (1965) http://www.hulu.com/watch/30657/the-knack-and-how-to-get-it

Westerns

Angel and the Bad Man (1947) http://www.hulu.com/watch/63052/angel-and-the-badman (with John Wayne)
Blue Steel (1934) http://www.hulu.com/watch/62722/blue-steel (with John Wayne)
'Neath the Arizona Skies (1934) http://www.hulu.com/watch/63038/neath-the-arizona-skies
The Desert Trail (1935) http://www.hulu.com/watch/63047/the-desert-trail
The Outcasts of Poker Flat (1952) http://www.hulu.com/watch/80882/the-outcasts-of-poker-flat
Duel at Diablo (1960) http://www.hulu.com/watch/46783/duel-at-diablo (with Sidney Poitier and James Garner)
Zane Grey Westerns: http://www.hulu.com/zane-grey-westerns

Horror Flicks

Terror in the Haunted House (1958) http://www.hulu.com/watch/37957/terror-in-the-haunted-house The Devil's Hand (1962) http://www.hulu.com/watch/70585/the-devils-hand
The Giant Gila Monster (1959) http://www.hulu.com/watch/38082/the-giant-gila-monster
Atom Age Vampire (1960) http://www.hulu.com/watch/39995/atom-age-vampire
Black Sunday (1961) http://www.hulu.com/watch/85377/black-sunday
The Brain that Wouldn't Die (1962) http://www.hulu.com/watch/73925/the-brain-that-wouldnt-die
The Devil's Hand (1962) http://www.hulu.com/watch/70585/the-devils-hand
The Crawling Hand (1963) http://www.hulu.com/watch/38782/the-crawling-hand
The Terror (1963) http://www.hulu.com/watch/73924/the-terror
Taste of Terror (1963) http://www.hulu.com/watch/82877/tales-of-terror
Carnival of Souls (1962) http://www.hulu.com/watch/37958/carnival-of-souls
House on Haunted Hill (1965) http://www.hulu.com/watch/70582/house-on-haunted-hill

B-Movies

Reefer Madness (1936) http://www.hulu.com/watch/63039/reefer-madness
The Phantom from 10,000 Leagues (1955) http://www.hulu.com/watch/38781/the-phantom-from-10000-leagues
It! The Terror From Beyond Space (1958) http://www.hulu.com/watch/65658/it-the-terror-from-beyond-space
Attack of the Puppet People (1958) http://www.hulu.com/watch/12210/attack-of-the-puppet-people
Frankenstein's Daughter (1958) http://www.hulu.com/watch/39996/frankensteins-daughter
The Wizard of Baghdad (1960) http://www.hulu.com/watch/80726/the-wizard-of-baghdad
The Last Man on Earth (1964) http://www.hulu.com/watch/46780/the-last-man-on-earth
Dr. Goldfoot and the Bikini Machine http://www.hulu.com/watch/13465/dr-goldfoot-and-the-bikini-machine
Dr. Goldfoot and the Girl Bombs (1966) http://www.hulu.com/watch/13462/dr-goldfoot-and-the-girl-bombs
The Night of the Living Dead (1968) http://www.hulu.com/watch/41065/night-of-the-living-dead

Frankie & Annette Movies

Beach Party (1963) http://www.hulu.com/watch/81684/beach-party
Muscle Beach Party (1964) http://www.hulu.com/watch/81693/muscle-beach-party
Pajama Party (1964) http://www.hulu.com/watch/92145/pajama-party
Beach Blanket Bingo (1965) http://www.hulu.com/watch/27808/beach-blanket-bingo
How To Stuff a Wild Bikini (1965) http://www.hulu.com/watch/59316/how-to-stuff-a-wild-bikini

16 comments:

  1. Cool - Thanks for taking the time to do the research for us! Now have to pick one to view - probably Crime Against Joe - can't not see a film where Julie London plays Frances 'Slacks' Bennett.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Wow! How good for you! I tried to enter the page, but they only stream within the United States :(

    ReplyDelete
  3. Operator 99 - Let me know what you think of that movie when you see it.

    MrJeffrey - My pleasure. I'm glad you found it useful.

    Lolita - Oh yes. Jonas had that same problem. :-(

    ReplyDelete
  4. Wow!!!! Thanks for doing this Raquelle -- I never even knew that Hulu had classic films :D Now I need to hurry up and decide which ones take high priority to watch right away before they expire!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Thanks for posting this list. I'd been tracking down stuff I wanted to see based on actor (I recently watched "Big House, USA" and "The Stranger" on Hulu, but this handy list is even better! Thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  6. This list is great! Though I've watched a lot of classics on Hulu, I've never weeded through the whole list to see what was in there. I'm very impressed by and appreciative of your effort! I'm so bummed I missed Pleasure Seekers; I've been wanting to see that :-P

    ReplyDelete
  7. Cool, can I get you a bag of popcorn?

    ReplyDelete
  8. This is great! I had no idea Hulu streamed classic films! Thanks so much for putting all of this together.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Holy wow this is extensive! Definitely bookmarking this post. and YAY Frankie & Annette!! :D

    ReplyDelete
  10. Raquelle,
    You are so neat and helpful! Yes it's too bad we who happens to be outside the US can't watch it. But on the other hand, we have Spotify! Ha!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Thanks for sharing that, Raquelle! For Jonas and others outside the States, I might point out that there are some classic films on places like YouTube and elsewhere (including Spotify). And I'd like to point out for those who love classic TV shows as well as classic films, both NBC and CBS have been pretty good about putting up some of their classic shows on their websites (Alfred Hitchcock Hour and The Twilight Zone)!

    ReplyDelete
  12. Thanks for the links. I appreciate the effort that went into this.

    ReplyDelete
  13. What a great resource. I'm quite familiar with Hulu, but I have to admit even I haven't really taken advantage of it. Thanks for gathering the links!

    ReplyDelete
  14. I've been wanting to check out Hulu for a while. Now I have no reason not to. Thanks. LOVE YOUR BLOG!

    ReplyDelete
  15. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

    ReplyDelete

Leave me a comment!

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails